Captivate Me

Standard

From the surface of my skin
To the depths of my soul within
I give you all of me
All the secrets of my heart
Every word and every thought
I give you all of me

Oh my heart’s in need of holding
And my soul’s in need of truth
Come be near me
Come surrond me, yeah

I lift my hands in sweet surrender
I’m falling humbly on my knees
I fix my gaze upon your splendor
How I love your majesty
You captivate me

Come into my darkest place
Step inside, invade this space
I give you all of me
All the secrets of my heart
Every word and every thought
I give you all of me

~ Captivate Me, Tenth Avenue North

I was unexpectidly blessed with hearing this song today. I just clicked a playlist and was letting it go, but when this song began it stopped me in my tracks. I had never heard it, in the years that I’ve been listening to this band. But as I stopped what I was doing and really just listened to what they were saying, this song put words to what my heart was feeling…when I didn’t understand what it was. I have been reading the book Captivating by Stasi and John Eldredge and the chapter that I’ve been reading most recently has been talking about the ways that God reveals himself to us and how he shows us how much he loves us!

“Every song you love, every memory you cherish, every moment that has moved you to holy tears has been given to you from the One who has been pursuing you from the first breath in order to win your heart. God’s version of flowers and chocolates and candlelight dinners comes in the form of sunset and falling stars, moonlight on lakes and cricket symphonies; warm wind, swaying trees, lush gardens and fierce devotion.”

~ Captivating, 116.

The first time I read this quote, it really made me think…this whole book has been making me look through a different lense at how I see God, and who he is to me. I’ve always been told that God wants a personal relationship with me, but this book has taken me even deeper into that idea and shown me what it means in new and different ways. Yesterday, I spent hours just sitting outside in the middle of a bunch of trees..listening to the wind, the birds and the leaves, the laughter of the kids next door. There was a peace, and calming-ness of just being there. This quote said just that, those things were God showing himself to me, showing me that he was there with me…even though I question it and cried out because I couldn’t feel it.

I am always surprised when I go through struggles like the past day or two and then get to a place where I can look back and see all the ways that God provided and really was there with me. God shows in me in millions of different ways every day….I just need to have eyes that are open to seeing them, and willing to look when it’s not spelled out in front of me.

Matthew 6:28-34 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Leave a Reply

